You can debate the merits of intent ad nauseam, but check the letter of the law.
So not only is this a foul because the crown initiated contact (and in my opinion, definitely) but also because there’s a pretty sizable gray area I guess you could argue, the referees should err on the side of calling the penalty.
The officials caught this one, yet somehow ruled that it happened after the runner crossed into the end zone.
That’s not the case, but it’s fine.
But in the interest of fairness, the referees decided minutes later that the Tide deserved a makeup call, so they ruled this hands to the face on Ole Miss during a Bama punt return touchdown to make it 24-17?